Visual Analysis

Visualized Overview

Alongside cleaning and organizing the data, I also created some quick standard visualizations using Tableau, Excel, and ChatGPT. This helped me quickly understand what I was working with and identify interesting approaches for my project.

First, I visually analyzed my data again to determine if the points I wanted to focus on were indeed interesting.

Overview Visual Data Analysis

I found that there are indeed differences between fandoms, characters, and relationships in terms of tags and ratings. This reinforced my initial decision to focus on these points.

Since I was already using Excel to prepare the data for my overview analysis, it seemed logical to try visualizing the data there as well. However, not all data was well-suited for visualization in Excel. Therefore, I tried using Tableau, but I found it even more challenging to visualize and summarize the dimensions as I wanted.

As a last resort, I used AI to visualize some of the information. This seemed to be the best solution to quickly visualize the data in a way that allowed me to gain visual insights.

Visual Data Analysis with ChatGPT

Visualizing Relationships

For visualizing relationships, I used AI to quickly create visualizations of my relationship datasets to get a sense of the network and the scale of the relationships. It was challenging to gauge the scope from just the rows in an Excel sheet.

Force-Directed Network

I quickly realized that a force-directed network was not the best choice for making the data easily understandable, as one of the key points for me was to represent the frequency of characters and relationships.

Harry Potter Relationship Networks

Harry Potter Relationship Network